• Sub Banner 1

The Stamford Golf Club Invitational


For the past 81 years, golfers have been coming from near and far to participate in the Stamford Invitational. This individual, match play format has brought many top tier golfers back to the area to try to become the champion for the year. The format is setup for any caliber golfer, as flights range from Championship (top 16 medalist) then work their way down to D-flight. The flights are determined during the qualifying round played on Friday. Your qualifying score will determine your placement and seeding within each flight. Once the pairings are set, it becomes a match play tournament from there on out. Players are “ranked” and the bracket begins Saturday morning until a champion is determined Sunday afternoon. The field is limited to the first 80 paid golfers.

Invitational Field is now Full. Please call pro shop to be put on alternate list.

Monday, August 6th - Thursday, August 9th

  • A practice round can be played; please contact pro-shop in advance

Friday, August 10th

Qualifying round:

  • SHOTGUN START AT NOON. Championship flight will be comprised of the low 16 Gross scores on Friday ONLY. Gross score 17-32 will determine 1st flight. All other flights will be determined using emphasis on established handicaps along with Friday’s round results. (All players must submit a GHIN or attested handicap upon registration).
  • $1300+ in CASH prizes on Friday alone. Top 4 Gross Prizes, Top 4 Net Prizes, Closest to the Pin on all Par 3’s, Second Shot on #18, and the Longest Drive payouts. 
  • Cash bar and dinner following the qualifying round (included in entry fee)
  • Calcutta Friday Night: Starting approx. 7:30pm after pairings and starting times. 

Saturday, August 11th

  • Flights B, C, and D will play match play. These flights will play as a foursome, you will play your opponent head-to-head, BUT you also must beat the winner of the other cart in your foursome to move on in the winner’s bracket. The other player that won his cart but lost to the opposing cart will move into the Beaten Eights, where they can still have a chance to cash. The two players that lost their match can sign up for a consolation round Sunday afternoon. This round will also pay Top Net and Gross Score.  
  • Championship & A Flight will continue to compete gross only in a head-to-head format playing as a twosome. 
  • The tournament committee reserves the right to seed players who do not have an established handicap. 
  • Dinner on Saturday: 5pm (included in entry fee)

Sunday, August 12th

  • Flight semi-finals and finals, Beaten Eights semi-finals and finals, 18-hole consolation round for all players eliminated on Saturday. Prizes for ALL flights to be awarded at the conclusion of the final match. We encourage all to come follow our Championship finalist. (Carts will be complimentary for all spectators).

Tournament notes:
Ties for inclusion in the Championship and 1st Flight will be decided by a sudden death playoff, starting on the 18th hole, immediately following Friday’s qualifying round. Breakfast available for purchase daily. 

All participants are entitled to one complimentary practice round, which may be played two weeks prior to the event. Cart not included. Medalist is the low gross qualifying score on Friday. Medalist will receive the Jack Maxwell trophy. 

  • Member Entry Fee - $110
  • Non-Member Entry Fee - $160

Make check payable to Stamford Golf Club and send with entry card to:
Stamford Golf Club
PO Box 65
Stamford, NY 12167


Save the date September 8th & 9th, 2018 Two-Man Fall Scramble 
Previous participants may register any time prior to Friday, August 10.
All other participants may register starting at 6:00AM on Saturday August 11, 2018

Tournament Committee:

  • Wayne Lord: Chairman
  • Jon Langer
  • Jon Barber
  • Jim Natale
  • Greg Funck
  • Kurt DuBois

Kurt Swenson

Kurt Swenson

2017 Champion

Gov Govern - 2017 Runner Up

Len Govern

Len Govern

2017 Medalist

Past Invitational Honorees:

2017 Bill Osborne
2016 Geno Govern
2015 Marion Hoagland
2014 Jim Govern
2013 Bob Preston
2012 Richie and Nancy Beers
2011 Norm and Jackie Swenson

Past Invitational Champions:

2017 Kurt Swenson
2016 Ryan Curran
2015 Gov Govern
2014 Paul DeFeo
2013 Pete Schaaf, Jr.
2012 Brad Anderson
2011 Ryan Curran
2010 Ryan Curran
2009 Kurt Swenson
2008 Kurt Swenson
2007 Brad Anderson
2006 Tom Sluiter
2005 Kurt Swenson
2004 Jon Barber
2003 Pete Schaaf, Jr.
2002 Mark Archibald
2001 Glenn Carter
2000 Paul Lesta
1999 Brad Anderson
1998 Mark Archibald
1997 Glen Parrizo
1996 Mark Archibald
1995 Mark Archibald
1994 Duane Ely
1993 Jim Schouller, Jr.
1992 Brad Anderson